Students’ Guide to London Boroughs

writer icon

Amal Ahmed

calender icon

01 August, 2019

time icon

2 mins read

time icon

Travel Preparation

Share NOW

fav icon
main topic image

It is settled! You have chosen to study in London. It’s a great destination to spend your university years. Since the London boroughs map can literally feel like a maze, we understand how it can be confusing to try and figure out the different London districts! Having good knowledge of the districts will allow you to make great use of everything London has to offer during your time there. We’re here to simplify it for you.

Here’s a simple breakdown of the London boroughs:

What is Greater London?

England’s ceremonial county is referred to as Greater London, which comprises 33 districts. Each one gives an independent city vibe. If you'd like to know how many boroughs are there in London, read on. 

The districts include a total of 32 boroughs plus the City of London district, which is officially a separate entity from the county despite being located inside the region. The remaining 32 boroughs are divided into what are referred to as Inner London and Outer London.

How Inner London Boroughs Are Divided?

There are 12 boroughs within Inner London. These areas form the region’s interior parts that comprise the original Metropolitan London since 1855. The Inner London boroughs are currently the richest parts of the region. They include Camden, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth, and Westminster.

How Outer London Boroughs Are Divided?

As you will notice from the map, the remaining 20 boroughs form a sort of closed border around Inner London. The group of boroughs recognized as Outer London officially became a part of Greater London in 1965. Its total area, as well as population, are both larger than those of Inner London. They include Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond upon Thames, Sutton, and Waltham Forest.

Which Boroughs Are in Central London?

Central London is where all the action is and there is no wonder why it attracts people from all over the world to witness its iconic attractions. Studying in the English capital means you have easy access to amazing cultural and historical destinations, not forgetting world-class dining options, located in central London. The City of London district, most of Westminster borough, and only the inner part of Camden are considered a part of central London. Islington, Hackney, Tower Hamlets, Southwark, Lambeth, Kensington and Chelsea, and Wandsworth complete it, so mostly Inner London.

Crowds in London

How to Travel Between Boroughs?

You probably know that the most popular form of transportation in London is the tube. It offers hassle-free connections from one borough to another.

Travel Map

What to Know Before Using the Tube in London?

The most important thing you should be aware of before using the tube is that Greater London is located within 6 travel zones. Zone 1 comprises central London; each zone after that surrounds the previous one forming concentric circles outwards.

Inner London ends with Zone 4, which combines parts of both Inner and Outer London as well as Epping Forest in Essex (outside London).

Zones 5 and 6 combine parts of Outer London with other areas outside London. It will be helpful to have a London boroughs map with postcodes to get used to it. You can get a student travel card to avoid expensive transportation costs.

You can check out our Ultimate Guide to Transport in the UK blog post for more helpful information.


Subscribe to download

Share NOW